Home » Uncategorized » People with bipolar disorder don’t need as much lithium as previously thought

People with bipolar disorder don’t need as much lithium as previously thought

For the first time in six years since I finally gave up and started taking lithium on a regular basis, my hands and body are not shaking and trembling constantly. As I always suspected and fought like most people that are labeled as bipolar, the “therapeutic level” of lithium in the bloodstream was an incorrect measurement. My psychiatrist said that the medical community is finally realizing that lithium can still be therapeutic at a much lower level than previously thought. The previous therapeutic level was only very slightly less than the level of lithium toxicity which causes death. She told me that I could take half the amount of normal and see how it works. That was a month ago tomorrow. I noticed it by accident today when I realized I could not feel my heart beating through my chest anymore and my hand was completely still as I was holding it in front of me. I was completely overwhelmed, overjoyed, and almost over-cried.Image

Leave a Reply

